Some thoughts on Skins

 


It's an interesting points, particularly about Skins potentially making teenagers feel lonely if their life doesn't match what they see on screen. But here's Charlie Brooker suggesting that Stewart Lee might of missed the point as there's a certain morality to Skins:

'When I saw the initial trails for the first series of Skins (Mon, 10pm, E4; Thu, 10.35pm, C4) last year, I harrumphed like a 400-year-old man. It looked like Hollyoaks getting off with Trainspotting on the set of Christina Aguilera's Dirrty video. The advert showed Tony, one of the main characters, romping in a shower with two girls at the same time, which looked about as far away from my teenage years as it was possible to get. And when episode one rolled by, my harrumphing appeared justified. The minute I saw Tony in action, I thought "oh, so he's the hero, is he? Supposed to think he's cool, am I? Well I don't. I think he's an arsehole. Ha! Take THAT, Skins."

But the series had wrong-footed me. It thought Tony was an arsehole too, and spent episode after episode showing his friends slowly coming to the same conclusion. He was shallow and cruel, and the final episode ended with him getting hit by a bus. If I was a teenager, that's precisely what I'd want to see.

In-between now and then, Tony's been in a coma, emerging just in time for the start of the second series. The cocksure grin has been replaced by a hundred-yard stare. His brain's taken such a kick to the nuts, other people have to cut his food up for him. He can't write his own name or unbutton his flies. And the memories of most of his sexual conquests have been wiped, unlike his backside, which he has to clean using an automated spout on a special toilet.

In short, Tony's eating humble pie by the fistload. So having spent series one setting him up as a hideous bell-end, the programme now invites you to pity him. It's a great start. A confident one, too: in fact, the show oozes confidence from the off, opening with a wordless dance routine in a church, just to confuse you.'
Charlie Brooker, Guardian

Here's Adam and Joe being silly about Skins - if you don't fancy listening to the whole thing zip through to 7.50 mins